Daddy’s Home

One day someone came to the door and there stood a tall figure with packages in his hands.  I ran behind my mother wondering who could this Stranger be?  She answered my question by saying, “Es tu papa (This is your father).”  That was my first memory of my “Father.”  Before that moment I never knew my father existed.  As a young child I didn’t know how to act with having my Father there, but I was frightened to say the least.  He showed up now and than taking us on little trips to the park or to the junk yard to dump trash.

I remember on one of our little trips I sat on a stool behind a tall counter at a corner convenient store batting my little eyes staring into a cola glass that looked like an hour-glass.  Watching the bubbles moving around in the soda gave me a smile.  All my childhood and most of my adult life l loved coke a cola to the point of it harming my health.  I’ve now come to the conclusion that I was trying to connect the fond memory of my father with the coke cola to bring me temporary comfort from the void I had not having a father in my life.   As funny as that sounds it’s the truth.  Later of course it was much more harmful and deadlier substance abuse that I turned to dull the pain.  On one of his visits I natively asked him in front of my mother why don’t you stay here and live with us?  He looked at my mother and never answered my question.  That’s when hate started to grow for my father.  Hate started first with a little resentment and then grew into out of control rage.  All the doors and windows were broken in our home because of my years of fits of rage.  At that time in my life I felt I had someone else to hate besides my mother.

When I got to the age 13 I couldn’t stand to be in the same room with my father and I made sure he knew I hated him.  Years passed, tears were shed, and there was a point in my life where I got so depressed and would play over and over for days at a time “Daddy’s Home.”  One day I was listening to “Daddy’s home” my mother walked in and yelled at me, “Your daddy is never coming home!!!”  It was like a light bulb finally turned on in my head I whispered to myself, “Your right, he is NEVER coming home.”  I went from bad to worse.

1978, the day I became a Christian I struggled with the fact God loved me and that my relationship with him is similar to a father and daughter relationship.  What?  How could I relate to that kind of love?  For years I kept Jesus at a distance.  I thought, “I love you God, but I can’t get to close because you might leave me and never come home.”  Over the years I learned to draw closer to Him through prayer.  My mental thinking started to change and FINALLY started to believe “Jesus would never leave me or forsake me.”  I am still in the process of intimacy with my Lord, but my hope comes from his promises and the good things that have taken place in my life from intimacy with Him.

  1. “The Lord’s Prayer”

Mathew 6:9,    After this manner pray therefore pray ye: Our father which art in heaven…

  • God our Father…

Before we come to him with our petitions we must address Him as our Father.

We must honor our God as our father and know that we can express that love for Him with intimacy and in a personnel matter.

We must not be timid when we come to God but rather come boldly into his throne of Grace.

What a privilege to call God our father!!  It brings God so much joy and pleasure when we do this with all our hearts. Nothing is more pleasing to Him than this.

Perhaps you feel like you doubt His love for you and that makes it hard for you to come boldly to his throne. If you were here in front of me I would ask you to look into my eyes and boldly tell you that:  “You must know that you have access to come to God boldly and with the spirit of adoption and enter into intimacy like never before!!!”

Christ wants this place of intimacy with you more than you do.  He wants to visit with us and converse with us as a father with His sons and daughters.

He intercedes for us in heaven and takes care of our interests.  He will not only love us but he’ll let us know it!!!

  • God want to communicate his mind to you.

Mathew 15:15

I have made everything known to you…

Revelations 3:30

Here I am! I stand at the door and knock.  If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and have dinner with him, and he with me.  The victor; I will give him the right to sit with me on his throne.

Wow everyday we can have a dinner date with our daddy!  I don’t know about you but I love when my husband wants to treat me special and take me out for dinner.  How much more should we get excited for a date everyday with God the Father.  The God of the universe :).

He wants our fellowship!!! The table of fellowship was a sign of great intimacy and committed the host and friendly relations.

What are you waiting for?  Today is the day to start your intimacy with Christ if you haven’t done so already.  He is waiting!  Don’t be afraid of failure!  God is patient, a gentlemen, and willing to wait for you to come in the door and fellowship with him.

I have never been disappointed by my Father God!!! As for my biological father I rejected him because he rejected my mother and that’s why I hated him.  God is good and in control.  There is no more hate but God’s Love and forgiveness for all that hurt me.  What about you?  Draw close to God today and for the rest of your life!  Don’t stand up the Lord on your daily dates with the Master.

Next week’s title “Hallow be thy name,” don’t miss it.

Mrs. Barbara Casas

 

 

