Many Lonely Hours on the Rooftop

How many remember the oldie “Hey there Lonely Girl (If you still listen to it check out my blog on secular music at barbaracasasblog.wordpress.com)?”

Did it make you depressed listening to it?  The song made me depressed, but I loved to listen to it.  The more I listened the more lonely I got.  My loneliness was so bad it hurt.  This loneliness went back to being a small child spending many hours alone without any emotional contact.  I remember my house in East Los Angeles it was an old house with a garage in the back yard by the alley.  I would climb onto the roof of the garage to sit for hours at a time alone.  I would wait to see if anyone would care enough to find me, but no one ever did.

Thank God Jesus found me and saved me from my miserable lonely life.  I can’t imagine how lonely Jesus must have felt being on the cross away from his Father.  Jesus was the ultimate example of an intercessor.  He would often go off to a solitude place to pray for hours at a time alone.  Many times he prayed all night long.

I will tell you from experience that an intercessor lives a life of feeling all alone, but by faith lives their life knowing their never alone.  Does that make sense?  Yes it does.  Jesus even said it himself;

John 16:32

Yet I am not alone, for my Father is with me. NIV

 John 8:29-30

29 The one who sent me is with me; he has not left me alone, for I always do what pleases him.”  30 Even as he spoke, many put their faith in him.  NIV

One thing that pleases the Lord more than anything is being on prayer at all watches.  Jesus understood that we had to be on high alert at all times because we do not know the hour the enemy will come with temptation.

  • What watch are you on?

“The Jew people had four watches that they would pray”

Easton’s Bible Dictionary

  • Watches of the night

The Jews reckoned three military watches: the “first” or beginning of the watches (Lamentations 2:19), from sunset to ten o’clock; the second or “middle watch” was from ten until two o’clock (Judges 7:19); the third, “the morning watch,” from two to sunrise (Exodus 14:24; 1 Samuel 11:11). Afterward under the Romans they had four watches (Matthew 14:25): Luke 12:38, “even, midnight, cockcrowing, and morning” (Mark 13:35); ending respectively at 9 p.m., midnight, 3 a.m., and 6 a.m. (compare Acts 12:4.) Watchmen patrolled the streets (Song of Solomon 3:3; Song of Solomon 5:7; Psalm 127:1).

What watch are you on?  I’m talking to the intercessor the hard-core prayer warriors!

We need to step out of our comfort zone and press in with our prayers.

Our families, churches, and most Pastors need women and men of prayer.  If ten minutes is all you have than please give it the best ten minutes of your life.  We also need mountain movers and prayer warriors that will stand in the gap for the needs on hand and pray untill a breakthrough!!!

Can I say it? The Muslims do it.  Muslims are radicals that believe in their prayers.  We serve the true and living God! How much more should we dedicate our lives to prayer? They make fun of the mediocre prayers of most Christians.  We must not let them put us to shame and step up to the plate of prayer and watching.

Radical Muslin Praying in Washington DC

Colossians 4:2 (NIV)

Further Instructions

2 Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.

To devote is to; appropriate by or as if by a vow; set apart or dedicate by a solemn or formal act; consecrate: She devoted her life to God.

  • Watch and Pray (Mat. 26:41)

As Jesus prayed in the garden of Gethsemane, he was overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death. Desiring prayer help from his disciples, he told them, “Watch and pray, that you will not fall into temptation.” But the text tells us they did not watch, they did not pray, and therefore they fell. In their defeat they denied the Lord Jesus and fled as he was facing his greatest trial.

Help us Lord!!! I want to be in condition to pray for the needs that come to my attention and ready for my leaders to count on my prayer for whatever is needed.

Our Lord must have felt so lonely and overwhelmed but he loved his disciples even so.

The following is from: Like the Master Ministries

Jesus told His disciples to “watch and pray” several times. This phrase occurs only three times in the New Testament. Here they are,

Watch and pray, that ye enter not into temptation: the spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak. (KJV) Matt. 26:41Take ye heed, watch and pray: for ye know not when the time is. (KJV) Mark 13:33Watch and pray, that ye enter not into temptation: the spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak. (KJV) Mark 14:38

The Greek word for “watch” in Matt 26:41 and Mark 14:38 is the same. It is GREGOPEO. It has the sense of being “vigilant,” “to keep awake,” “to be on the alert,” and “to keep one’s eyes open.” In Mark 13:33 a different Greek word, AGRYPNEO, is used for “watch.” This word means “to be sleepless,” or “to keep oneself awake for the purpose of watching.” The two Greek words are similar but different, the later one having an emphasis on not sleeping.

Conclusion: All of these passages deal with moments of crisis. In Matthew, Jesus warned His disciples to remain spiritually awake for the purpose of not falling into sin. This is a great reminder for us to be watchful in order to flee sin and trust in Him.

Therefore Watch and Pray!!

Mrs. Barbara Casas

