Fearless In the Storm

There will be times in our walk with God that the storm will not go away, but we must walk through it. One sister in my church, came up to me, and handed me a paper,  which had a word, from the Lord for me. The first sentence read, “I pray for supernatural strength, for what you are about to go through.”

I didn’t want to hear that was going to go through it.  It also read, that it was going to be a “stretching of my faith.”

By now, I was feeling my bones on fire and flu-like symptoms every day. I knew that it was Satan, messing with me, so that I can give into what my body was dictating to me; that the cancer had spread and I are going to die. I had to gird up my mind, with the word, with worship and praise 24/7.

Fear was at my door,and it was calling out my name. The fear would literally make my body tremble. In the beginning, of all this a dear sister, name Dolores Holley, told me that the Lord had told her that all I was going to have at the end of all this, was a little scar; that looked like a small burn, and that the devil was just wasting my time. Another sister, from my church, that didn’t know what I was going through, told me that the Lord had given her a funny word, and she thought it was off the wall; but she was going to give it to me anyway.  It said,  “Barbara that she is going to live to be an old lady and was going to see all of my promises fulfilled.”

Those were the words that kept me going in faith! So I went through my biopsy on December 15, 2011, with no scaring or pain and the doctor and the nurses sensed something in the room that they even mentioned to me that they were still talking about it days later. They said that there was a peace over me that was all around the room. Well, I told them of course it was the power of prayer and it was the manifest presence of God almighty.

Did you get that? “Power of Prayer” that is what sustains us through the storm and whatever we go through we can do it with courage and confident in our savior and King Jesus Christ. This comes from prayer and connecting with the Almighty.

Acts 27:20

20 When neither sun nor stars appeared for many days and the storm continued raging, we finally gave up all hope of being saved. NIV

Isn’t that like human nature that when we don’t see the light in our situations we give up hope so easily. But the key is not to be lead on our human nature but turn to the creator of the entire universe the one that by one word from His mouth can calm any storm in our life.

Acts 27:23-27

Last night an angel of the God whose I am and whom I serve stood beside me 24 and said, ‘Do not be afraid, Paul. You must stand trial before Caesar; and God has graciously given you the lives of all who sail with you.’ 25 So keep up your courage, men, for I have faith in God that it will happen just as he told me. 26 Nevertheless, we must run aground on some island.” NIV

Paul took courage in the word that came from the Lord to Him that night and that my friend is where we get our courage and strength. The people who were with Paul were afraid and fear had taken hold of their lives through the raging of the storm.

But Paul spoke courage to the men and spoke faith into their lives. A stretching of your faith will bring you out more confident in God no matter what is taking place in your life.

Paul said, nevertheless we must still go through it for a while! God didn’t immediately take them out of the storm but comforted them through the storm.

On December 19, 201, about 5 pm l got the phone call, from Dr. Champagne, that the biopsy confirmed, that it was cancer. She said, that a team of doctors, would go over my case and meet with me two days before Christmas.

I remember going deep in prayer, and meditation, in his word, and quoting it out loud, the scripture on healing, from the depths of my soul. One night, my son and daughter in-law Sabrina were visiting,  I was in my room praying; I was crying out, from a place I didn’t even know existed, and it startled Sabrina and she asked my son is your mom okay? He told her, yes,  she is crying out to God. That day, I felt my heart take courage, and the fear left me.

December 23, 2011,  I was getting ready meet the four doctors to disgust my treatment; as I prepare to go, I started a conversation with God, telling him how sorry I was for crumbling down with fear.  I told him Lord, you know me! You know everything about me! Help me, to go through this and not give up the fight. I walked out and heard a song, called “Turn it all around” from Misty Edwards. It felt like it came from God’s mouth to my heart. I broke out crying, and thanking God, for being tangible, and so ever close in my storm.

After talking to the doctors, they were very hopeful that the cancer was localize and curable. Thank you Jesus!!!  I was talking to a social worker,  smiling and listening to what she had to say, when one of my daughters interrupted her by asking, is my mom acting normal, for what she is going through? Wow, what is normal? What the world considers normal is not normal, when looking at things through God’s eyes, and through His plan, we have nothing to fear!

I looked up the word fear and there was an interesting definition;

That which a person is afraid: Cancer is a common fear.

Honestly, before this I never feared death or cancer, but now I fight the thoughts of death, and terminal illness. But,  I trust in my God, and I trust in His plan for my life.  This fight is under the blood of Jesus!!!

Ps 55:5-8

Fear and trembling have beset me;

horror has overwhelmed me.

6 I said, “Oh, that I had the wings of a dove!

I would fly away and be at rest —

7 I would flee far away

and stay in the desert;

Selah

8 I would hurry to my place of shelter,

far from the tempest and storm.” NIV

Do you find yourself in some kind of storm? Well rest in the shadow of the most high. Learn the power of prayer through the storm! Pray even when you don’t feel like it! Pray in your darkest moments in life!!!

Ps 57:1-3

7 Have mercy on me, O God, have mercy on me,

for in you my soul takes refuge.

I will take refuge in the shadow of your wings

until the disaster has passed.

2 I cry out to God Most High,

to God, who fulfills [his purpose] for me.

3 He sends from heaven and saves me,

rebuking those who hotly pursue me; NIV

When you are in prayer, and cry out to God, from the depths of your soul, that is the key to our relief and comfort in hard times. And knowing, that He will fulfill His purpose for you will bring comfort, beyond measure!!

God Bless!

Mrs. Barbara Casas

